Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPC)

There are 21 Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPCs) in the State of Alaska. The boundaries of each LEPC are called a Local Emergency Planning District (LEPD). The LEPD boundaries are determined by the SERC. It is common practice for a SERC to use the county or borough boundaries as LEPD boundaries. Alaska has nineteen boroughs; but, a great deal of the land within the State is not within any borough. The Alaska SERC normally use the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic (DCCED) Rural Education Attendance Area (REAA) map boundaries as LEPD boundaries. This is because all of Alaska has been placed in an REAA. A less cluttered map that shows LEPDs is provided by DHS&EM

LEPC members are volunteers and government employees who live within a specific LEPD. Federal legislation states that, as a minimum, each LEPC shall include representatives from the following groups: elected officials, law enforcement, civil defense, firefighting, first aid, health, local environmental, hospital, transportation personnel, broadcast and print media, community groups, and owners/operators of facilities subject to regulation by SARA Title III. Detailed information regarding the composition, duties, and responsibilities of an LEPC can be found in Chapter 8 of the book "SARA Title III, Intent and Implementation of Hazardous Materials Regulations." Alaska Statute 26.23.071 establishes the Alaska SERC and LEPCs, and specifies their duties.

Questions regarding emergency planning or hazardous materials reporting within a specific community should be referred to your LEPC if available.  If no LEPC exists in contact the SERC Coordinator Kim Wiebl at 907 428-7020.

Questions regarding the SERC or State management of LEPCs should also be referred to the SERC Coordinator.

LEPC Links

LEPC Forms