SERC Training Committee

COMMITTEE DUTIES:

The Training Committee identifies training needs based on established standards and SERC policy for all emergency response organizations listed in the emergency response plans. The committee evaluates established training standards and policies for consistency with best emergency response practices. The committee, in cooperation with the All-Hazards Planning Committee of the SERC, evaluates whether the responders have the training plan, personnel, equipment, and other resources necessary to carry out the planned response.

The Training Committee identifies training needs for LEPC members pursuant to their duties as planners, not as responders. This training is based on available courses and courses which may be created by a state agency.

Develop policies and recommendations for the SERC regarding development, funding, and implementation of public and private training programs for emergency response.

Research and develop policies based on an analysis of potential hazards; federal, state and local laws and regulations, national association and industry standards applicable to Alaska for appropriate numbers of emergency responders; basic equipment for emergency responders; levels of training for emergency responders considering availability of other assistance; difficulties of maintaining level of response/education; and other considerations necessary for the committee to develop policies.

Consult with and support all groups involved in or needing such training.

Oversee implementation of SERC policies regarding all-hazards training curricula, programs, instructors and students.

Carry out other duties as assigned by the DMVA co-chair.

COMMITTEE COMPOSITION:

To the extent practicable, the SERC Training Committee consists of individuals who have expertise in training for emergency planning and/or responders. It’s minimum composition includes three local government representatives and two LEPC representatives. Additional members may be added by the committee members as they deem beneficial to the conduct to their business.

Name and Agency

Phone Number

Chair - Jeffrey Lafferty

Alaska Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
P. O. Box 5750
Ft. Richardson, AK 99505
jeffrey.lafferty@alaska.gov


(907) 428-7058

Tom Vaden

Norton Sound Health Corporation
P. O. Box 966
Nome, AK 99762
tvaden@nshcorp.org



(907) 433-3404

Andy Jones

DHSS Emergency Programs
3601 C Street
Suite 424
Anchorage, Alaska 99503
andy.jones@alaska.gov


(907) 334-2593

Cindy Forrest-Elkins

DNR/DOF/FIRE Management
550 W. 7th Avenue, Suite 1450
Anchorage, AK 99501
cindy.forrest@alaska.gov



(907) 269-8441

Krystyna Markiewicz

DOL/DLSS/C&T
Consultation and Training
3301 Eagle Street, Suite 305
Anchorage, AK 99503
krystyna.markiewicz@alaska.gov



(907) 269-4957

Edward (Ted) Smith

Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium
Manager of Emergency Preparedness
4000 Ambassador Drive
Anchorage, AK 99508
essmith@anthc.org


(907) 729-2464

Julie Harvey

P. O. Box 199650
Anchorage, AK 99519-6650
HarveyJR@ci.anchorage.ak.us


(907) 343-1404

Larry Bethel

Private Training 
Environmental Management, Inc.
206 E. Fireweed Lane, Suite 201
Anchorage, AK 99503-2703
lbethel@emi-alaska.com



(907) 272-8852 

Brian Templin

City of Craig 
P.O. Box 725
Craig, AK 99921
planner@craigak.com


(907) 826-3275
 

Jan Mitchell

DPS Fire Life Safety Training
5700 E Tudor Road
Anchorage, AK 99507
jan.mitchell@alaska.gov


(907) 786-1149

Ron Swartz

UAA Emergency Manager ICS Instructor
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage, AK 99508
rcswartz@uaa.alaska.edu


(907) 729-2464

Casey Cook

Mat Su Borough Emergency Manager ICS Instructor
680 N. Seward Meridian Hwy
Wasilla, AK 99654
casey.cook@matsugov.us


(907) 729-2464

Matt Kelzenberg

Manager, Environmental Operations
Alaska Railroad
327 W. Ship Creek Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
P.O. Box 107500
kelzenberg@akrr.com


(907) 265-2384